Officially kick-off a bicycle race tour around France 2020 season

The famous Tour de France cycling season 2020 has officially opened with the first stage of 194 km from Belgium’s capital Brussels.

A total of 176 drivers from 22 racing teams competed in the opening round. They depart from Brussels Central Square, via Charleroi, Waterloo and several other cities in Belgium. They arrived there before reaching their destination at the Laeken Royal Palace on the outskirts of Brussels.

As a result, driver Mike Teunissen of the Jumbo-Visma team from the Netherlands was the first to win the yellow shirt after the first stage. Spectacular  was four seconds faster than the second-place champion Peter Sagan of Bora-Hansgrohe.

Coming in third was Lotto-Soudal’s Caleb Ewan, more than six seconds ahead of the win. Meanwhile, defending champion Geraint Thomas of Ineos started the journey of defending the title badly. Not even named in the top athletes leading after stage one.

Tour de France will continue with the second leg also starting from Brussels. This is the stage for content racing team time with a distance of 27.6km. They come from the Royal Palace in central Brussels to the Atomium monument. This is a favorite tourist destination known as the “Belgian Eiffel Tower” on the outskirts of Brussels.

Early next week, Tour de France will officially come to France with the third leg of 215 km, departing from the southern Belgian city of Binche and ending at Epernay.

Taking place every year since 1903, Tour de France is the oldest and most prestigious road bike race in the world. It is also the third largest sporting event on the planet after the World Cup and Olympics.

Brussels was chosen as the starting point for the new Tour de France season to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first Tour de France championship of legendary Eddy Merckx. The former Belgian crab born in 1945 has won a total of 11 Grand Tour titles throughout his career.

He is considered to be the most successful cyclist in the history of world cycling. These include five championships around France, five titles of the Italian Circuit and one championship of the Spanish Circuit.